When I got up this morning it was with a mission. My house is a total tip, and I decided that it was time that was sorted. Hubby was starting a new job and I thought it would be lovely for him to come home to a nice clean home. So my starting point was the toy kitchen.

Image

As you can see, it is a well used toy. My mum actually gave it to the girls after her foster child proved to have no interest in it. Prior to getting this one the girls had a wee plastic one, but this is a much better one.

As you can also see it’s not just kitchen stuff scattered around it but dolls, bags socks etc. So my first mission was to sort out the mess. We have the little rubble buckets that were bought with good intentions, but never actually used, so we used them to sort the mess. Kitchen stuff in one, baby toys in another and everything else in the third.

Image

The kids thought this was a great game and they argued over who got to get the baby toys and who would fill the kitchen bucket. Great I thought, this is going to be easy! Everything was quickly picked up and dumped in buckets

Image 

So it was on to the next stage – tackling the big toy bucket and properly organising the toys.

Image

Now we’re cooking with gas I thought. Izzy’s happily playing on the blanket and the girls are helping to sort the toys. This will be done by lunch time!

But wait, what’s this…

Image

 

Oh no, they’ve rediscovered all the toys that they haven’t even looked at for the last 6 months. Suddenly all my hopes were dashed as I was faced with the reality that every mum of small children faces – children don’t care that you’re trying to clean, you’re just getting in the way of their play.

Image

No problem, I thought. Izzy will be going to sleep shortly so I’ll get it all finished then. So, once the baby conked out for her nap, I started to put away all the kitchen stuff into the toy kitchen. I actually managed to get it all tidied away as well! Look, it’s all neat.Image

But then I turned round…

Image

And looked into the conservatory,

Image

 

And then the baby woke up

Image

 

And she didn’t want put down. So that left me only able to tackle any mess with one hand that I could reach while standing. So I started to organise my cupboards

Image

 

And I got distracted. Then I had to cook tea, which was a very lovely vegetarian cottage pie.

Image

 

And then suddenly it was the end of the day! I mean WTF, who decided that days should only have 24 hours in them? Don’t they know that mums need at least twice that? Anyway, at the end of this long organising day I was left with an almost organised cupboard

ImageImage

And a living room that looks like this

Image

 

Tomorrow’s job – tidy today’s mess… 

 

